Focus on U.S. Department of Energy’s Nanoscale Science Research Centers

Available to watch now, Nanotechnology explores the work carried out at the Department of Energy’s Nanoscale Science Research Centers

Want to learn more on this subject?

The two-hour webinar will highlight and publicize the cutting-edge science being performed by the scientific staff and users located at the various Department of Energy (DOE) Nanocenters across the US. The five Nanocenters are DOE’s premier user centers for interdisciplinary research at the nanoscale, serving as the basis for a national program that encompasses new science, new tools, and new computing capabilities. Each center showcases particular expertise and capabilities in selected theme areas, such as the synthesis and characterization of nanomaterials; catalysis; theory, modelling and simulation; electronic materials; nanoscale photonics; soft and biological materials; imaging and spectroscopy; and nanoscale integration. As such, this webinar will feature dynamic and engaging presentations from a number of Nanocenter experts in these various specialities, who have submitted original papers to this targeted IOP Publishing Focus collection.

Want to learn more on this subject?

READ MORE:  7 Best WordPress Affiliate Link Management Plugins For Affiliate Marketers

Stanislaus S Wong is a distinguished professor of chemistry at Stony Brook University. He and his group have developed viable sustainable strategies for producing novel nanomaterials of relevance not only for energy but also for nanomedicine and theranostics. Stanislaus has served as a section editor for Nanotechnology and is currently a member of its executive editorial board in addition to being an executive editor for ACS Applied Materials and Interfaces.

Ray LaPierre is a professor and chair in the Engineering Physics Department with interests in III-V nanowires, molecular beam epitaxy, and applications in photovoltaics, photodetectors and quantum information processing. He has more than 98 publications, 50 invited presentations, and 138 conference presentations related to nanowires. He is the editor-in-chief of Nanotechnology and also a board member of Nano Express.

Subramanian Sankaranarayanan is an associate professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at University of Illinois Chicago and the group leader of the Theory and Modeling Group in the Nanoscale Science and Technology Division at Argonne National Laboratory. He is also a senior fellow at the Institute of Molecular Engineering at University of Chicago. He is a co-inventor on six patents and has co-authored more than 150 journal articles including several high-impact publications in Science, Nature, Nature Materials, Advanced Materials, Nature Communication, Proceedings of National Academy of Sciences, ACS Nano, Nanoletters, and Physical Review Letters to name a few.

READ MORE:  10 Steps to a Successful Lean Six Sigma Implementation

Amy Marschilok is an associate professor in the Department of Chemistry at Stony Brook University, where she is an adjunct faculty in the departments of Materials Science and Engineering, and Chemical and Molecular Engineering, and co-director of the Institute for Energy Sustainability and Equity. Amy holds a joint appointment at Brookhaven National Laboratory, where she serves as energy storage division manager and energy systems division manager in the Interdisciplinary Science Department.

Daniel Sun is a fellow in Cyclotron Road Cohort 2022 and the founder of Sunchem. He received his BS in chemistry at Loyola Marymount University in 2013 and his PhD in chemistry and chemical engineering from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne in 2020. His objective is to revolutionize how critical metals are purified while also providing clean drinking water using nano filters.

READ MORE:  China is building the world's most far-reaching radar system for planetary defense

Adam Rondinone is the co-director for the Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies (CINT) as well as the group leader for MPA-CINT at Los Alamos National Laboratory. Adam received his doctorate in chemistry from Georgia Institute of Technology in 2001 and immediately joined Oak Ridge National Laboratory as a Wigner Fellow studying the chemistry of nanomaterials. He is chair emeritus of the board of directors for the Society for Science at User Research Facilities, and served two years as a Legislative Fellow in the US Senate offering advice on energy and technology issues. He has authored or co-authored more than 100 publications and 10 patents.

About this journal

Nanotechnology encompasses the understanding of the fundamental physics, chemistry, biology, and technology of nanometer-scale objects.

Editor-in-chief: Ray LaPierre, McMaster University, Canada.

This post was originally published on this site